Staff Directory

Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nate Boock
Activities Director
Ballard Activities Office
515.597.2971 ext. 2139 nboock@ballard.k12.ia.us
Terri Weeks
Activities Director Administrative Assistant
Ballard Activities Office
515.597.2971 ext. 2138 tweeks@ballard.k12.ia.us

Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
VACANT POSITION
Head Baseball Coach
Tyson Valentine
Assistant Baseball Coach
Ballard High School
tvalentine.tyson@gmail.com
Tom Shelton
Freshman Baseball Coach
tjshelton867@gmail.com
Merle Olberding
8th Grade Baseball Coach
mertzo1958@gmail.com
Casey Christensen
7th Grade Baseball Coach
caseychristensen35@gmail.com
VACANT POSITION
Assistant Middle School Baseball Coach

Cheerleading

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kaily Macdonald
Football Cheerleading Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2156 kmacdonald@ballard.k12.ia.us
JoEllen Wesselmann
Basketball Cheerleading Coach
515.597.2815 ext. 3103 jwesselmann@ballard.k12.ia.us
Allison Vincent
Junior Varsity Football - Wrestling Cheerleading Coach
allisonvincent@alumni.iastate.edu
JoEllen Wesselmann
Middle School Football Cheerleading Coach
Ballard Middle School - East Elementary
515.597.2815 ext. 3103 jwesselmann@ballard.k12.ia.us
JoEllen Wesselmann
Middle School Winter Cheerleading Coach
Ballard Middle School - East Elementary
515.597.2815 ext. 3103 jwesselmann@ballard.k12.ia.us

Dance

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Alicia Ortner
Dance Coach
ortner.alicia2plus2@gmail.com
Emmalee Vierling
Volunteer Dance Coach
vierlinge@urbandaleschools.com

Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Corey Vespestad
Co-Head High School Football Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2294 cvespestad@ballard.k12.ia.us
Kyle Howard
Co-Head High School Football Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us
Andy Richardson
Assistant Football Coach
West Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 5123 ajrichardson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Matt Harrison
Assistant Football Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2292 mharrison@ballard.k12.ia.us
Wes Dietrich
Assistant Football Coach
wesdietrich@gmail.com
Scott Edwards
Assistant Football Coach
sales@plazarv.com
Ethan Hokel
Assistant Football Coach
ebhokel@gmail.com
Gavin Crandall
Assistant Football Coach
crandallgavin1@gmail.com
TJ Trau
Volunteer High School Football Coach
tjtrau@icloud.com
Michael Ogle
Middle School Football Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2214 mogle@ballard.k12.ia.us
Tom Shelton
Middle School Football Coach
tshelton@ballard.k12.ia.us
Curtis Weeks
Middle School Football Coach
curtisweeks64@gmail.com
Jacob LaMarche
Middle School Football Coach
j.lamarche.pt@gmail.com

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeff Schertz
Head Men's Basketball Coach
jschertz@ballard.k12.ia.us
Tron Scott
Assistant Men's Basketball Coach
tronscott5@gmail.com
Rusty Hicks
Assistant Men's Basketball Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4100 rhicks@ballard.k12.ia.us
Wyatt Weeks
Freshman Men's Basketball Coach
weeksw87@yahoo.com
Sam Weeks
Volunteer High School Men's Basketball Coach
weekssam40@yahoo.com
Jake Skurdal
8th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5231 jskurdal@ballard.k12.ia.us
Andy Richardson
Assistant 8th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5123 ajrichardson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Kyle Howard
7th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us
Jackson Culp
Assistant 7th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
jculp@iastate.edu

Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Wyatt Weeks
Head Men's Golf Coach
weeksw87@yahoo.com

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Patrick Ellah
Head Men's Soccer Coach
patrick_ellah@yahoo.com
Jacob Huston
Assistant Men's Soccer Coach
jphuston21@gmail.com

Men's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Matt Fjelland
Head Men's Tennis Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4133 mfjelland@ballard.k12.ia.us
John Hernandez
Assistant Men's Tennis Coach
john.hernandez@huxcomm.net

Men's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Darren Herrold
Head Men's Track Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2191 dherrold@ballard.k12.ia.us
Sam Upah
Assistant Men's Track Coach
sjupah@iastate.edu
Andy Richardson
Middle School Boy's Track Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5123 ajrichardson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Kyle Howard
Middle School Boy's Track Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us

Men's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Barth
Head Men's Cross Country Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3128 sbarth@ballard.k12.ia.us
Mike Carr
Assistant Men's Cross Country Coach
mcarr@ballard.k12.ia.us
Marian Kohut
Volunteer Men's Cross Country Coach
mkohut507@gmail.com
Cori Schnell
Head Middle School Boy's Cross Country Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2297 cschnell@ballard.k12.ia.us
Anders Dovre
Assistant Middle School Boy's Cross Country Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext.2188 adovre@ballard.k12.ia.us

Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Charlie Husak
Head Softball Coach
chusak@ballard.k12.ia.us
VACANT POSITION
Assistant Softball Coach
Makenzie Ihle
Freshman Softball Coach
ihle.kenzie@gmail.com
Rachel Newell
Middle School Softball Coach
Karlee Ahrenholtz
Middle School Softball Coach

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kelly Anderson
Head Varsity Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3204 kanderson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Kelvin Adams
Assistant Varsity Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3116 kadams@ballard.k12.ia.us
Nathan Smith
Assistant Varsity Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2290 nsmith@ballard.k12.ia.us
Darren Herrold
Freshman Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2191 dherrold@ballard.k12.ia.us
Justin Johnson
8th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3112 jjohnson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Karlee Ahrenholtz
Assistant 8th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
Kyle Howard
7th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us
Merle Olberding
Assistant 7th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
mertzo1958@gmail.com

Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Ogle
Head Women's Golf Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2214 mogle@ballard.k12.ia.us

Wrestling

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Steve Mickelson
Head Varsity Wrestling Coach
smickelson@ballard.k12.ia.us
VACANT POSITION
High School Assistant Wrestling Coach
Casey Christensen
High School Assistant Wrestling Coach
caseychristensen35@gmail.com
Michael Murphy
Middle School Wrestling Coach
mmurphy@ballard.k12.ia.us
Jacob LaMarche
Middle School Wrestling Coach
j.lamarche.pt@gmail.com

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Brent Emerson
Head Women's Soccer Coach
bkemerson89@gmail.com
Kevin Cole
Assistant Women's Soccer Coach
kkcole@huxcomm.net

Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jen Dovre
Head Women's Tennis Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2160 jdovre@ballard.k12.ia.us
Mike Carr
Assistant Women's Tennis Coach
mcarr@ballard.k12.ia.us
Bill Britton
Volunteer High School Women's Tennis Coach
leaves@huxcomm.net

Women's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Barth
Head Women's Track Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3128 sbarth@ballard.k12.ia.us
Jenna Phillips
Assistant Women's Track Coach
West Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 5256 jphillips@ballard.k12.ia.us
Marian Kohut
Volunteer Women's Track Coach
515.294.8364 mkohut507@gmail.com
Jean Longnecker
Middle School Girl's Track Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2270 jlongnecker@ballard.k12.ia.us
Corey Vespestad
Middle School Girl's Track Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2294 cvespestad@ballard.k12.ia.us

Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Morgan Bennett
Head Volleyball Coach
morgan_bennett11@hotmail.com
Maddy Punsalan
Junior Varsity Volleyball Coach
maddyp047@gmail.com
Jerilyn Geneser
Freshman Volleyball Coach
Ballard High School
jgeneser@ballard.k12.ia.us
Matt Fjelland
8th Grade Volleyball Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4133 mfjelland@ballard.k12.ia.us
Ben McQuade
8th Grade Volleyball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2196 bmcquade@ballard.k12.ia.us
Barb Baumgardner
7th Grade Volleyball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2189 bbaumgardner@ballard.k12.ia.us
Crystal Reinertson
7th Grade Volleyball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3209 creinertson@ballard.k12.ia.us

Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Barth
Head Women's Cross Country Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3128 sbarth@ballard.k12.ia.us
Mike Carr
Assistant Women's Cross Country Coach
mcarr@ballard.k12.ia.us
Marian Kohut
Volunteer Women's Cross Country Coach
515.294.8364 mkohut507@gmail.com
Cori Schnell
Head Middle School Girl's Cross Country Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2297 cschnell@ballard.k12.ia.us
Anders Dovre
Assistant Middle School Cross Country Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext.2188 adovre@ballard.k12.ia.us