Staff Directory

Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nate Boock Activities Director
Ballard Activities Office
515.597.2971 ext. 2139 nboock@ballard.k12.ia.us
Terri Weeks Activities Director Administrative Assistant
Ballard Activities Office
515.597.2971 ext. 2138 tweeks@ballard.k12.ia.us

Instrumental Music

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Derrick Hawks Instrumental Director
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2157 dhawks@ballard.k12.ia.us
Carolyn Fair Instrumental Director
Ballard Middle School - East Elementary
515.597.2815 ext. 133 cdfair@ballard.k12.ia.us
Cheryl Pittman Instrumental Director
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2157 cpittman@ballard.k12.ia.us

Chorus

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Peter Krum Vocal Music Instructor
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2142 pkrum@ballard.k12.ia.us

Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nick Steenhagen Head Baseball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2106 nsteenhagen@ballard.k12.ia.us
Ben McQuade Assistant Baseball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2196 bmcquade@ballard.k12.ia.us
Matthew Poots Freshman Baseball Coach
mtpoots@iastate.edu
Miles Moa Volunteer High School Baseball Coach
moa_miles@yahoo.com
Tom Shelton 8th Grade Baseball Coach
tshelton@ballard.k12.ia.us
Chris Dobernecker 7th Grade Baseball Coach
dobernec@uni.edu
Dillon Douglas Assistant Middle School Baseball Coach
ddouglas@ballard.k12.ia.us

Cheerleading

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kali Muller Football Cheerleading Coach - Competition Cheerleading Coach
kmuller@ballard.k12.ia.us
JoEllen Wesselmann Basketball Cheerleading Coach
515.597.2815 ext. 3103 jwesselmann@ballard.k12.ia.us
Vacant Position Wrestling Cheerleading Coach
JoEllen Wesselmann Middle School Football Cheerleading Coach
Ballard Middle School - East Elementary
515.597.2815 ext. 3103 jwesselmann@ballard.k12.ia.us
JoEllen Wesselmann Middle School Winter Cheerleading Coach
Ballard Middle School - East Elementary
515.597.2815 ext. 3103 jwesselmann@ballard.k12.ia.us

Dance

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Alicia Ortner Dance Coach
ortner.alicia2plus2@gmail.com
Emmalee Grote Volunteer Dance Coach
grotee@urbandaleschools.com

Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Al Christian Head Varsity Football Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2113 achristian@ballard.k12.ia.us
Wes Dietrich Assistant Football Coach
wesdietrich@gmail.com
Corey Vespestad Assistant Football Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2294 cvespestad@ballard.k12.ia.us
Scott Edwards Assistant Football Coach
sales@plazarv.com
Shawn Rigby Assistant Football Coach
rigbysm@gmail.com
Michael Rigby Assistant Football Coach
mjrigby510@huxcomm.net
Michael Nordeen Assistant Football Coach
mnordeen@ballard.k12.ia.us
Andy Richardson Freshman Football Coach
West Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 5123 ajrichardson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Nick Steenhagen 8th Grade Football Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2106 nsteenhagen@ballard.k12.ia.us
Michael Macki 8th Grade Football Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4162 mmacki@ballard.k12.ia.us
Dan Warg 7th Grade Football Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4106 dwarg@ballard.k12.ia.us
Michael Ogle 7th Grade Football Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2214 mogle@ballard.k12.ia.us
Kyle Howard Volunteer High School Football Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us
Ethan Hokel Volunteer High School Football Coach
ebhokel@gmail.com
Steve Pietsch Volunteer Middle School Football Coach
Pietsch@huxcomm.net
Tim Boyd Volunteer Middle School Football Coach

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Deason Head Men's Basketball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2172 cdeason@ballard.k12.ia.us
Sam Weeks Assistant Men's Basketball Coach
weekssam40@yahoo.com
Rusty Hicks Assistant Men's Basketball Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4100 rhicks@ballard.k12.ia.us
Wyatt Weeks Freshman Men's Basketball Coach
weeksw87@yahoo.com
Jake Skurdal 8th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5231 jskurdal@ballard.k12.ia.us
Andy Richardson Assistant 8th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5123 ajrichardson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Vacant Position 7th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
Kyle Howard Assistant 7th Grade Boy's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us
Tron Scott Volunteer High School Men's Basketball Coach
tronscott5@gmail.com

Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Don Sears Head Men's Golf Coach
dasears48@gmail.com

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Marcelo Irvin Head Men's Soccer Coach
marceloirvin@hotmail.com
Hoa Tu Assistant Men's Soccer Coach
tu.hoa@principal.com
Daniel Krause Volunteer Men's Soccer Coach
djkrauz93@hotmail.com
Andrew Rasmussen Volunteer Men's Soccer Coach
amr@iastate.edu

Men's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Matt Fjelland Head Men's Tennis Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4133 mfjelland@ballard.k12.ia.us
Mike Carr Assistant Men's Tennis Coach
mcarr@ballard.k12.ia.us

Men's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Al Christian Head Men's Track Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2113 achristian@ballard.k12.ia.us
Darren Herrold Assistant Men's Track Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2191 dherrold@ballard.k12.ia.us
Andy Richardson Middle School Boy's Track Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5123 ajrichardson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Kyle Howard Middle School Boy's Track Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us

Men's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Barth Head Men's Cross Country Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3128 sbarth@ballard.k12.ia.us
Mike Carr Assistant Men's Cross Country Coach
mcarr@ballard.k12.ia.us
Marian Kohut Volunteer Men's Cross Country Coach
mkohut@iastate.edu
Vacant Position Head Middle School Boy's Cross Country Coach
Jenna Nosekabel Assistant Middle School Boy's Cross Country Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5256 jnosekabel@ballard.k12.ia.us

Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Charlie Husak Head Softball Coach
charlie@totalqualityinc.com
Katie Irwin Junior Varsity Softball Coach
katlynirwin5@gmail.com
Makenzie Ihle Freshman Softball Coach
ihle.kenzie@gmail.com
Amanda Auffert 8th Grade Softball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2971 ext. 2186 aauffert@ballard.k12.ia.us
Crystal Reinertson 7th Grade Softball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3121 creinertson@ballard.k12.ia.us

Speech

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Lisa Ronca Speech Sponsor
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2178 lronca@ballard.k12.ia.us
Rachel Vespestad Speech Sponsor
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext.118 rvespestad@ballard.k12.ia.us
Shelly Holly Speech Sponsor
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2216 sholly@ballard.k12.ia.us

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kelly Anderson Head Varsity Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3204 kanderson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Kelvin Adams Assistant Varsity Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3116 kadams@ballard.k12.ia.us
Nathan Smith Assistant Varsity Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2290 nsmith@ballard.k12.ia.us
Darren Herrold Freshman Women's Basketball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2191 dherrold@ballard.k12.ia.us
Justin Johnson 8th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3112 jjohnson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Aaron Hill Assistant 8th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
aaron.hill1031@gmail.com
Kyle Howard 7th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2815 ext. 3108 khoward@ballard.k12.ia.us
Charlie Husak Assistant 7th Grade Girl's Basketball Coach
charlie@totalqualityinc.com

Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Ogle Head Women's Golf Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2214 mogle@ballard.k12.ia.us

Wrestling

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Steve Mickelson Head Varsity Wrestling Coach
smickelson@ballard.k12.ia.us
Dillon Combs High School Assistant Wrestling Coach
dcombs@storycountyiowa.gov
Vacant Position High School Assistant Wrestling Coach
Drake Noftsger Volunteer High School Wrestling Coach
shootatakedown@yahoo.com
Mike Macki Middle School Wrestling Coach
West Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4162 mmacki@ballard.k12.ia.us
Nathan Macki Middle School Wrestling Coach
nathanmacki1@gmail.com
Dan Warg Volunteer Middle School Wrestling Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4106 dwarg@ballard.k12.ia.us

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Brent Emerson Head Women's Soccer Coach
bkemerson89@gmail.com
Tessa Reiter Assistant Women's Soccer Coach
tmreiter@iastate.edu

Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jen Dovre Head Women's Tennis Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2160 jdovre@ballard.k12.ia.us
Jessica Kowalik Assistant Women's Tennis Coach
jmkowalik22@gmail.com
Mike Carr Volunteer High School Women's Tennis Coach
mcarr@ballard.k12.ia.us
Bill Britton Volunteer High School Women's Tennis Coach
leaves@huxcomm.net

Women's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Barth Head Women's Track Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3128 sbarth@ballard.k12.ia.us
Jenna Nosekabel Assistant Women's Track Coach
West Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 5256 jnosekabel@ballard.k12.ia.us
Marian Kohut Volunteer Women's Track Coach
515.294.8364 mkohut@iastate.edu
Jean Longnecker Middle School Girl's Track Coach
Ballard Middle School - Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2270 jlongnecker@ballard.k12.ia.us
Corey Vespestad Middle School Girl's Track Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2294 cvespestad@ballard.k12.ia.us

Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bethany Vier Head Volleyball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 bvier@ballard.k12.ia.us
Vacant Position Junior Varsity Volleyball Coach
Vacant Position Freshman Volleyball Coach
Barb Baumgardner 8th Grade Volleyball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2189 bbaumgardner@ballard.k12.ia.us
Matt Fjelland 7th Grade Volleyball Coach
East Elementary
515.220.4306 ext. 4133 mfjelland@ballard.k12.ia.us
Ben McQuade Assistant Middle School Volleyball Coach
Ballard High School
515.597.2971 ext. 2196 bmcquade@ballard.k12.ia.us
Jodi Howard Volunteer High School Volleyball Coach
jlp13579@gmail.com

Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Barth Head Women's Cross Country Coach
Ballard Middle School
515.597.2815 ext. 3128 sbarth@ballard.k12.ia.us
Mike Carr Assistant Women's Cross Country Coach
mcarr@ballard.k12.ia.us
Marian Kohut Volunteer Women's Cross Country Coach
515.294.8364 mkohut@iastate.edu
Vacant Position Head Middle School Girl's Cross Country Coach
Jenna Nosekabel Assistant Middle School Cross Country Coach
West Elementary
515.228.3890 ext. 5256 jnosekabel@ballard.k12.ia.us