Bombers Win Leon Fox Invitational

Bombers Win Leon Fox Invitational

The women's cross country team ran in the Leon Fox Invitational on Thursday afternoon and ran away with a convincing victory.  Ellie Twedt paced the Bombers and won the race in a time of 19:38.  Caitlin Maher came in behind Twedt to finish second with a time of 19:58.  Freshmen Brooke Loewe and Meg Rietz ran in a time of 20:29 and 20:38 and finished 5th and 6th respectively for the Bombers.  Josie Fleischmann, Rachel Wohlgemuth, and Abbey Ross rounded out the field for the Bombers who won their fourth consecutive race of the season.

Comments From Head Coach Scott Barth:

"The women ran another dominating race.  We entered the race feeling we could experiment some with different race strategies and tried a few new things out.  I think that helped us tighten up our pack of runners and we made progress as a team tonight.  Ellie Twedt took first and Caitlin Maher took second overall with sub 20 minute runs.  That got us off to a great start.  Freshmen Brooke Loewe and Meg Rietz stepped up their performances to place 5th and 6th overall.  Josie Fleischmann bounced back with a good performance to close out our scoring with a 9th place finish.  Rachel Wohlgemuth and Abbey Ross closed out our varsity competition placing 10th and 12th overall.  Basically we placed all 7 runners in the top 12 out of a total of 114 runners.  The JV women also ran an excellent race.  Kate Huisinga and Ashley Wuestenberg keep developing with potential for varsity time also.  We rested Hailey Cole from competition tonight as a preventative measure.  She has a minor injury and we decided resting her was in the best interest of the team long-term."

The Bombers are back in action on Monday, October 1 when they compete at the Norwalk Invitational.  The meet will feature the junior varsity and varsity and start at 4:50 PM.


1. Ballard, 23

2. Creston, 69

3. Winterset, 92

4. Roland-Story, 161

5. Bondurant-Farrar, 175

6. Perry, 178

7. Madrid, 186

8. ADM, 187

9. Greene County, 215

10. Des Moines North, 230

11. Boone, 274


1 Ellie Twedt 19:38

2 Caitlin Maher 19:58

5 Brooke Loewe 20:29

6 Meg Rietz 20:38

9 Josie Fleischmann 20:59

10 Rachel Wohlgemuth 21:05

12 Abbey Ross 21:18